she’s here!

We are delighted to announce the birth of our daughter, Anne Rebecca. Her name means “God has been gracious” and honors the prayers of Hannah, which I have often echoed, and the example of the prophetess Anna, who found her life’s satisfaction not in a child of her own, but in the salvation offered in the only child ever promised to anyone – Jesus. (Her middle name runs in my family, and she joins a long line of wonderful women named or middle-named Rebecca stretching for eight generations now.) This has been quite a journey, and our Annie is an undeserved gift from the God who has been gracious every step along the way.hummel family

 

 

“May the God before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac walked,
the God who has been my shepherd all my life to this day,
the Angel who has delivered me from all harm
— May He bless this girl.
May she be called by the names of my fathers Abraham and Isaac,
and may she increase greatly upon this earth.”
-from Israel’s blessing to his grandsons Ephraim (“God has made me fruitful in the land of my affliction”) and Manasseh (“God has made me forget my sorrow”) as recorded in Genesis 48.

9 thoughts on “she’s here!

  1. Ohhhhhh HOORAY!

    I’m crying with joy over here. “Congratulations” seems so paltry somehow, but…congratulations! God bless you and Aaron and Annie 😀

  2. The tears are flowing and I am overwhelmed with joy for you! Praising our faithful God along with you for this beautiful blessing. Looking forward to meeting her!

  3. I say a paraphrase of those exact verses quite often when i leave my boys in their room sleeping. “May the God who has been my shepherd my whole life long—bless the boys.” Rejoicing with you this day, and praying continued strength, peace, and blessing as you care for your precious daughter and watch her grow into the woman God has purposed her to be.

  4. Anne with an e!!! Congratulations to you, all four of you, on this moment of greatest and long-longed-for joy – I look forward to many more baby pictures on this blog!! 🙂

Comments are closed.